Tryptophan Friday

I was cut in advance tonight, Friday, due to extremely light post-Thanksgiving reservations. So instead of a post-mortem later tonight, I’ll use this chance to take care of a few odds and ends.

* * * * *

WordPress offers statistics for blog sites. I’m excited to see that my traffic has been increasing steadily. While some people might start a blog merely to vent their thoughts and feelings, and others might start with the idea of having a structured way to assemble a personal journal, most want to have readers. And even the previous two types quickly catch the bug of trying to rack up more hits. Once you’ve put some thoughts out there, you crave the exposure and feedback.

So, to my readers who like what I’m doing, I urge you to add Waiternotes blog to your news reader. What is that? It’s a site or mini-program in your browser that retrieves new stories/posts for you. I use Google Reader. Most people have a Google account (gmail, Google Docs, Groups, Picasa, Maps, etc.). Google Reader makes it pretty easy. Click the link I’ve provided, then look for the text box at the lower right for Tips and Tricks:

 

Tips and tricks

If you find yourself repeatedly visiting a website to check for updates, or if you just stumble across a page you want to keep track of, you can easily subscribe to it in Google Reader using the subscribe bookmark.

To use the subscribe bookmark, simply drag the link below to your bookmarks bar. Then, when you’re on a web page, you can click the bookmark to view it in Google Reader.

Subscribe…

Once you see the feed preview, confirm your subscription by clicking the “Subscribe” button within Reader.

 

Pasted from <http://www.google.com/reader/view/>

 

Drag that Subscribe button to a bookmarks toolbar and you can start using it. In this case, find Waiternotes blog. Click that Subscribe bookmark and it takes you to Google Reader, where it makes you click Subscribe (on the web page) once again. From then on, when you go to your Reader page, you’ll see a link for Waiternotes every time I make a new post.

There are many other readers available. Yahoo, and I’m sure MSN have them too. It saves me a lot of time in my reading. And it will make it a lot easier for you to keep up with this blog.

google-reader

* * * * *

In fact, one of my subscriptions is a great blog I’d like to recommend to you formally. Mikethewaiter.com is must reading for me. Mike is a big-time veteran – he claims more than 40 years in the biz. He’s got lots of great old stories, advice, and personal perspective. He doesn’t shy away from the controversial stance. And he’s just flat-out an entertaining read. Check him out. You will enjoy it.

* * * * *

Comments are much-appreciated here, as are questions. If something in one of my posts piques your interest or your ire, give a Comment. I’ll most likely respond, or else save your question for an actual blog post, if the subject is rich enough.

* * * * *

That’s all the housekeeping I have for now.

It was fortunate to get the night off. Virtually my whole family is in town, staying at the house. While a little five hour break for me to make some money isn’t too much of an intrusion, it’ll be nice to spend the whole night with everybody. After all, the Lakers are on . . .

 

Kobe Bryant - courtesy Los Angeles Times
Kobe Bryant - courtesy Los Angeles Times
2 thoughts on “Tryptophan Friday

  1. MikeTheWaiterDotCom Sat, November 29, 2008 / 9:49 am

    Wow! Thanks! I am truly humbled…and grateful for the kind words.
    Great advice about the google reader, but even with your instructions, I would mess it up!. I have a dinner scheduled with my web master on wednesday and will install at that time. …my blog is new, i am computer illiterate, and there’s an obvious need to make a number of tweeks. I value your suggestions.
    The interesting thing about the guy who helps me is that he is an M.D. who actually makes more moolah on the internet than at his practice…check out his site at http://www.doctorduplicator.com … his words of advice… it’s all about CONTENT… make your site memorable and useful with good CONTENT.
    best to you and your for a peaceful and joyous holiday season, mtw

  2. banquet manager Thu, December 11, 2008 / 8:45 am

    My doctor make more money from overbooking and having you wait in the “waiting room” for around 2 1/2 hours before you get the pleasure of spending 10 minutes with him. I gotta try your doctor Mike. Maybe he’ll diagnosis my site and take 2 aspirins.
    So You Want To Be a Banquet Manager

Leave a Reply

