Miscellany

Yesterday I got carried away talking about the Breakdown of Society, or Societal Collapse, as it relates to waiters. I said all I needed to say on the subject, but rereading it today, I realized I didn’t address one of SkippyMom’s main thrusts. Oops.

So here goes. She thought the concept of ‘Societal Breakdown’ was a little harsh for my impressions of fewer kids trick-or-treating. I agree. I didn’t really mean that this was going to ruin society. All I really meant was this is another aspect in that long slow process that I see happening.

* * * * *

There was a pretty cool article in the L.A. Times today about old waiters who know their stuff. Take a look.

* * * * *

So maybe this is what we’ve been waiting for (no pun intended). Three of us waiters today at Michael’s. Top dog (not me) took home $25. I walked with $17, as the closer.

Success at Michael’s is based on doing a solid job and biding your time until you get a big table ($-wise) that kicks your average into respectable, normal range. I’ve played that game for more than three years without any deviation from the formula. Time and again a week would come out with a $100 a day average, month after month. A rare $60 average per day week would be followed by two $120 average per day weeks . . . and on and on.

But the last month I’m seeing either a surprising run of bad luck, or else that the key component – the big hitter – has vanished. I’ve been averaging $50-60 a shift for a month. And obviously I’m not off to a good start this week.

* * * * *

Wanted to give a holler to TheHootersGirl. She’s only made one short comment here, but she has linked to my blog and is driving a lot of traffic my way. Thanks!

I’ve read some of her writing, and it’s a lot of fun. And, of course, what could be more provocative than learning what a real Hooters Girl thinks of her customers? And maybe there’ll be pictures . . .

Check her out. Her writing.

* * * * *

Hope you all had a fun St. Patrick’s Day. I was prepared to stay in while the wife worked, but a friend dropped in and pulled me out for a couple beers. It was fun. When it’s not degenerated into sloppy drunkenness, the excitement of St. Patty’s partying is a fun atmosphere. We went to the nearby restaurant row to an Irish bar. The street was full people, the vibe was lively. As I said, not sunken into sloppiness yet. We were out from about 8-9 p.m.

After that I came home and worked on the computer. Then I mixed a martini and watched the Lakers fall at home against the 76ers on a buzzer beating 3-pointer. This, after Kobe drained a jumper with 5 seconds left to go up by two. A stinging shocker.

3 thoughts on “Miscellany

  1. Food Service Ninja Wed, March 18, 2009 / 9:57 pm

    wanna trade me lunch shifts?

    My place is new been doing lunch for month now and I got stuck working Monday lunch running $20-28 normally. Last week I snagged $38. We have yet to develop a clientle of ladies who lunch yet. We are in a shopping center near 2 different country club neighborhoods that main anchor tenant is an uber high end grocery store

  2. waiternotes Wed, March 18, 2009 / 10:53 pm

    Not good, eh? Don’t know if you’ve read all my posts, but we have to reconcile making less money at lunch. I hope your lunch shift is just and ‘extra’ shift, not replacing a dinner shift.

  3. waiterextraordinaire Thu, March 19, 2009 / 1:16 pm

    It is tough slugging out there. People are still going out but spending less and tipping less on top of it.

Leave a Reply

