Big Hits

I know I haven’t posted for a long time. Well, the Lakers won the World Championship (aka NBA Championship)! I’ve been on a high, naturally. I was previously adhering to a no-drinking-till-after-writing rule. I dropped that system temporarily.

I remember the glory years (both five titles in the ’80s and the three titles from ’01-’03), and the times between. If you’re not a serious (translation: of dubious sanity) sports fan, you won’t understand, but there is a major endorphin rush from winning the title (as a fan). So much so, that it colors your own off-season. You have a generally bright outlook. There’s a snap in your step. You feel more confident.

Likewise, when you lose (as a fan) you are actually depressed for a certain amount of time. It’s embarrassing and, really, unconscionable considering the true gravity of sports in your life and the world in general. But it’s real.

So when the boys took home the title this year, I decided to revel in the happiness and spend my next week or so reading everything I could find about them. I kind of went into vacation mode. You know vacation mode: You’d never consider having a drink at 11 a.m. under any circumstances in your normal life, but on vacation . . . what the hell?

For the record, I don’t drink in the afternoon, even when the Lakers have won the championship. Just an analogy there.

The other reason I haven’t posted is because there’s been a strange massive spike in my ‘readership.’ I’ve kind of been mesmerized by it. Which is exactly the opposite of the normal state of affairs – wherein I don’t post for awhile, hits go way down, and I get nervous and write something new.

For some reason, this post has gotten assigned a high-ranking search result for “Jack Daniels.” Yes, Jack Daniels whiskey is mentioned (and pictured) in the post, but it’s only the subject of a short quip. Some days traffic is up more than 500% from my previous normal. Most days it’s double or triple the old normal.

I don’t regard these hits as particularly ‘real,’ but they are hits and they might lead to new people reading my writing, so I’m grateful.

I’m also grateful that this seemingly random event has led surfers to what I consider one of my better pages (it’s the one about Real Life Waiter Nightmares). Hell, I could just as easily have ended up with a throwaway Tivo/Lakers post getting all the attention.

Anyway, if you haven’t read it yet check out Real Life Waiter Nightmare Type 2 (cont’d). It’s a good read. Everybody’s doing it. Come on . . . What? Are you chicken or somethin’?

4 thoughts on “Big Hits

  1. waiterextraordinaire Sun, June 28, 2009 / 8:42 am

    It must be nice to be in a winning sports team city. Here in Toronto it has been a long long long spell without winning anything of note. Kinda of used to it really.You must get a lot of hits. I just hit the century mark for hits in a day last week.

  2. teleburst Sun, June 28, 2009 / 9:13 am

    Yes, I found that when I posted about Norman Brinker’s passing, suddenly my hits went through the roof. Obviously not my intent, but it shows the power of a temporarily popular tag and search engine phrase. If you look at a graph of my hits, this one day spike stands out so much that Vlad the Impaler got a hard-on down in Hell.

    I resisted the temptation to post about Michael Jackson just to goose the stats :g:.

    “So You Want To Be A Waiter” blog
    http://teleburst.wordpress.com/

  3. waiternotes Sun, June 28, 2009 / 3:07 pm

    Yeah, guys. You know, no complaints from here, right? On neither the Lakers winning, nor all the free hits. And, no, I don’t get a lot of hits – just a lot more than before. 🙂

  4. banquet manager Thu, July 2, 2009 / 9:40 am

    When I managed a restaurant, I hated big sports days. A lot of customers but my waiters were more interested in watching TV than serving them.

Leave a Reply

